WEBSTER COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Webster County Board of Commissioners met at 8:30am on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2023 for their regular Business Meeting at the Courthouse in Red Cloud, Nebraska. The following Board Members were present for roll call: Dan Shipman (District One), Trevor Karr (District Two), TJ Vance, (District Three) Tim Gilbert (District Four), and Gary Ratzlaff (District Five). The Board stood and recited the Pledge of Allegiance. Chairman, TJ Vance gave notice of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act Laws. Motion was made by Ratzlaff, seconded by Shipman to approve the minutes of the December 20th, 2022 meeting. Voting in favor: Vance, Ratzlaff, Gilbert, Karr and Shipman. Voting nay, absent or abstaining: None. Motion carried. Motion was made by Karr, seconded by Gilbert to pay claims and payroll for the January 3rd, 2023 meeting. Voting in favor: Vance, Ratzlaff, Gilbert, Karr and Shipman. Voting nay, absent or abstaining: None. Motion carried.

At 8:35am, Paul Stoner, Highway Manager reported on Roads. The Road crews are doing shop work and repairs. They discussed service contracts and the Bladen Highway Project.

The Board discussed the HVAC System and Fence briefly. They also discussed the AARP Money. At 9:15am, Deputy Clerk Abbey Harig and Treasurer Janet Knehans discussed the thermostat situation throughout the Courthouse. It was decided to have Co Commissioner Gary Ratzlaff call Dustin Gay from Energized Electric to look at some of the issues in the hall ways of each floor and allow the offices to regulate their own temperature controls.

At 9:30am, Treasurer Knehans presented Applications for Exemption Form 457. Motion was made by Karr, seconded by Ratzlaff to go into Board of Equalization. Voting in favor: Vance, Ratzlaff, Gilbert, Karr and Shipman. Voting nay, absent or abstaining: None. Motion carried. 3 Applications for tax exemption were presented from Head Start, Midlands Area on Agency and Webster County Hospital. Motion was made by Shipman, seconded by Karr to approve of these exemptions. Voting in favor: Vance, Ratzlaff, Gilbert, Karr and Shipman. Voting nay, absent or abstaining: None. Motion carried. Motion was made by Shipman, seconded by Ratzlaff to go out of Board of Equalization. All members voted in favor: Motion carried. Janet also discussed the Tribal Grant Money of \$100,000.00 available to the Counties. Janet has applied for this.

At 9:45am, Noxious Weed Supt Brian Pedersen met with the Board. Brian had applied for a Grant of \$2,500.00 which he has received. The Board felt this money should go back into his Noxious Weed Fund for expenses. He presented his State Reports for the Board to review, accept and sign. The reports were very favorable.

At 10:00am, the Board received the Red Cloud EMT Annual Certification Report to be signed by Chairman, TJ Vance. Motion was made by Ratzlaff, seconded by Gilbert sign the Report and Clerk Louise Petsch will send it to the State of Nebraska Dept of Revenue.

The Board discussed the Christmas Party on Sunday, January 15th, 2023.

Total Wages - \$24,142.83. GENERAL FUND: A-1 Refrigeration, Heating & Air (Repairs)-\$286.88; Ameritas Life Insurance Corp (Health)-\$969.42; AT&T Mobility (Phones)-\$517.86; Blue Cross/Blue Shield (Premium)-\$197.56; Blue360 Media (Supply)-\$90.75; Katie Bolte (Expense)-\$59.75; CEI Security (Repairs)-\$211.60; Crowne Plaza Kearney (Lodging)-\$779.70; S.S. (Fica)-\$1047.25; Eakes Office Solutions (Supply)-\$1234.41; First National Bank Omaha (Supply)-\$1140.87; Great Plains Communications (Phones)-\$1444.36; Hamilton Information Systems, Inc (Support)-\$576.45; J&A Auto Supply (Supply)-\$6.99; Elizabeth Janning (Expense)-\$37.50; Jared's Auto Expert (Repairs)-\$1452.08; Kenny's Hardware and Home Center (Supply)-\$31.99; Krueger Land Surveying (Survey)-\$1950.00; Kustom Signals Inc (Repairs)-\$112.00; Midland Area Agency on Aging (Handibus)-\$1372.00; NACO (Registration)-\$50.00; Alexa Pedersen (Expense)-\$26.25; Quadient Finance USA, Inc (Postage)-\$2000.00; Red Cloud Chief (Publish)-\$225.68; City of Red Cloud (Utility)-\$1588.63; Tami Scheuneman (Expense)-\$87.50; Self-Insured Dental Fund (Premium)-\$75.00; Hillary Stevens (Services)-\$196.00; Thomson Reuters-West (Supply)-\$548.88; Lindsay Waechter-Mead (Expense)-\$16.75; Williams Exterminating, Inc (Pest Control)-

\$88.00; Woodward's Disposal Service (Utility)-\$25.00. ROAD/BRIDGE FUND: ACE/Eaton Metals (Culverts)-\$1378.00; Bladen Sand & Gravel, Inc (Gravel/Borrow)-\$9386.43; City of Blue Hill (Utility)-\$142.12; Country Corner (Fuel)-\$103.25; Dakota Fluid Power, Inc (Repairs)-\$699.70; Eakes Office Solutions (Supply)-\$11.89; Equipment Blades, Inc (Supply)-\$1332.52; Fastenal (Supply)-\$148.39; First National Bank Omaha (Supply)-\$80.90; Great Plains Communications (Phones)-\$49.73; Hometown Leasing (Lease)-\$88.03; Jared's Auto Expert (Repairs)-\$477.89; John Deere Financial (Supply)-\$1416.79; LRNRD Rural Water Project (Utility)-\$26.40; Matheson Tri-Gas, Inc (Supply)-\$9.57; Nebraska Machinery Company (Repairs)-\$1694.63; Ben Pavelka Trucking, Inc (Repairs)-\$84.25; Platte Valley Comm of Hastings (Supply)-\$40.85; R&M Disposal LLC (Utility)-\$62.70. SELF-INSURED DENTAL FUND: Larry Baker (Dental)-\$349.00; Minden Dental Clinic (Dental)-\$370.20. COUNTY MEDICAL/RELIEF FUND: NE Health & Human Services System (Beatrice/Norfolk)-\$180.00. NOXIOUS WEED FUND: Crowne Plaza Kearney (Lodging)-\$259.90; Brian Pedersen (Expense)-\$70.00. RC AMBULANCE SERVICE #1: Bio-Electronics (Agreement)-\$265.00; S.S. (Fica)-\$397.24; Great Plains Communications (Phones)-\$48.93; Petsch Billing (Contract)-\$250.00. BH AMBULANCE SERVICE #2 FUND: Todd Brehm (Expense)-\$28.79; Jim Buschow (Expense)-\$290.00; S.S. (Fica)-\$399.96; Petsch Billing (Contract)-\$250.00; Marlys Schmidt (Expense)-\$556.40.

Being no further business, Chairman TJ Vance adjourned the meeting at 10:15am. The next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 17th, 2023 at 8:30am. A current agenda and complete minutes are on file in the County Clerk's Office and at www.co.webster.ne.us.

Dated this 3rd day of January, 2023 Webster County Board of Commissioners

Louise Petsch, Webster County Clerk

NOTE for records:

The following 2023 County Officials were sworn in after the meeting by Clerk Magistrate, Jolene Duffy: County Commissioners, TJ Vance (Dist #3), Gary Ratzlaff (Dist #5), Dan Shipman (Dist #1); Abbey Harig, County Clerk; Janet Knehans, County Treasurer; Troy Schmitz, County Sheriff; and Katie Ord as Deputy County Clerk. Sonja Krueger, County Assessor will be sworn in on Thursday, January 5th, 2023.